Last day at UMC/Inside Loyola!

 For the past year, I have been a writing intern at Loyola University Marketing and Communication (UMC), writing articles for our online news website Inside Loyola.

Over the past year, I have written 91 articles (2 more to come today), plus 10+ stories for the print edition of Inside Loyola and the Loyola Magazine.

Needless to say, it has been busy.

But it has been an incredible experience.

I was a little apprehensive about joining the communications world vs journalism, but the prospect of a paid internship was too good to pass up. Not to mention I was recruited because of my work at ChiU, so I was flattered someone would not only read my writing, but decide they wanted to hire me because of it.

It absolutely came at the perfect time. I needed clips, I needed money and I needed a work environment that was conducive to my learning. I ended up with so much more.

For the first time, I know what it is like to work at a place I actually LIKE working at– a novel concept for someone who has worked dead-end jobs since age 13 (except for WCCO, of course, but a newsroom internship is outside of this realm). I love my co-workers, supervisors and fellow interns. I like that I get to write about interesting topics: from profiling an undocumented student to exploring the social media presence of our library archives to attending a press conference with Mayor Rahm Emanuel announcing a partnership between Loyola and Senn High School.

Of course, I had to do the mundane, which is a given no matter where you are. But in doing multiple stories per week, I learned to write quickly and concisely, and how to have fun with even the most basic of topics. These are skills I couldn’t have learned anywhere else.

And on my last day, I clicked on Inside Loyola only to see that my bosses turned the tables on me: they wrote a profile of me and featured it on the Inside Loyola website.

Though I am excited to move on, this has been a defining experience in my college career and life. I will keep people from this job in my life forever.

That is worth a lot more than a bullet point on my resume.

Leave a Reply

